Laura Jurd & guests ft. the Ligeti Quartet, Dinosaur, Martin Lee Thomson & Anja Lauvdal plus J Frisco

Sage Two

Curated by trumpet player/composer Laura Jurd, ‘Stepping Back, Jumping In’ is a celebration of new sounds featuring world-class improvisers and contemporary music-makers from Norway and the UK, resulting in a dynamic, 14-piece ensemble.

Mercury-nominated band Dinosaur at the core, Jurd invites contemporary string specialists, the Ligeti Quartet; Martin Lee Thomson & Anja Lauvdal and British/Iranian composer Soosan Lolavar; plus UK master-improvisers Rob Luft; Raphael Clarkson and Liz Exell to join forces to premiere some brand-new works written specially for the ensemble.

The ensemble will be premiering a number of newly commissioned works by various members of the ensemble, including compositions by Laura Jurd, Heida Mobeck/Anja Lauvdal, Elliot Galvin and Soosan Lolovar. A bold and ambitious meeting of creative minds, this is sure to be a unique and spell-binding evening, showcasing the sonic magnitude of some of Europe’s most intriguing and eclectic composer-performers.

Support comes from award-winning avant-garde jazz trio J Frisco.

Laura Jurd – trumpet
Elliot Galvin – piano
Conor Chaplin – bass
Corrie Dick – drums / percussion

Ligeti Quartet
Mandhira de Saram – violin
Patrick Dawkins – violin
Richard Jones – viola
Cecilia Bignell – cello

Martin Lee Thomson – tuba
Anja Lauvdal – electronics

Soosan Lolavar – dulcimer
Raphael Clarkason – trombone
Rob Luft – acoustic guitars
Liz Exell – drums / percussion

Stage Times

8pm – 8.30pm: J Frisco
8.50pm – 10.10pm: Laura Jurd & guests
Please note timings are subject to change.

Part of Spring Jazz

An exciting new season of top acts and emerging artists from the world of jazz, soul, funk and beyond kicks off in January 2019. Throughout the Spring we will be presenting incredible musicians from across the UK and beyond as part of a new, broader year-round programme of jazz in all its eclectic...

More Season Events

blog comments powered by Disqus